Twin Springs Park

IMG_1435

Is this Heaven?  No, it’s… actually, let me check on that.  This stream must be the most beautiful of all in Iowa.  It really appears to be something from a fairy tale – crystal clear, cold water, cute bridges, hidden picnic tables, gorgeous trees growing streamside…. amazing.

I came here twice on the last day of July, 2016.  The first time was late morning, on a sunny day, to fish.  I parked by the Paine Memorial stone.  The ice cold spring water felt amazing on my sandaled feet, and exploring the streamside trails was so fun I basically forgot I had come there to fish.  I hiked all around, taking in the watercress, the trees, and the moss.  The water was so cold that my feet began to hurt.

The areas I explored did not seem likely to hold a lot of fish, but I noticed as the stream went down toward the river, the runs got deeper and less riffly, and I did see a fair number of people fishing.

I came back around dusk, and it was a very hot and humid night.  The extra cold water meeting the warm air caused a beautiful mist to envelope the entire valley, which made it look even more magical.  The only ones here were me, my wife, and our dogs- or were we?  Through the deep mist, up an impossibly small tributary stream, I saw an elfin young woman casting perfect loops with a minuscule fly rod.  I couldn’t be sure whether she was human, or perhaps a nisse?  As I walked toward her, the figure faded away and vanished in the mist.

I can’t guarantee you’ll see a woods sprite if you visit, but I do guarantee some beautiful photos.  Have fun and keep a close eye out for spirits!

-July 31, 2016

Stream Name:
Twin Springs
 Park or Wildlife Area: Twin Springs City Park
 DNR Page: http://www.iowadnr.gov/idnr/Fishing/Where-to-Fish/Trout-Streams/Stream-Details/lakeCode/TTS96
 Access: Highway 52 runs along the west side of Decorah.  Take the turn toward the city park.
 Pros: Gorgeous clear water, easy access, awesome scenery.
 Cons: Didn’t see a lot of fish, though I’m sure they’re here.  Lower portions of stream were busy.
 Additional Information: There is a bakery and coffee shop tucked up Twin Springs Road.  I didn’t get to visit it but it looked busy and fun.

Ratings: (out of 10)

Fish Size: NA
Fish Quantity: NA
Beauty: 10
Solitude: 5
Water Clarity: 10 (upstream, gets less clear downstream)
Overall: 8.3

 

IMG_1449

 

 

Leave a Reply

