Ensign Hollow is one of Iowa’s special regulations streams, with artificial lures only, and a strict catch-and-release policy for fish under a certain size.  I enjoy these streams, as I usually assume there will be lots of fish there.  Ensign surprised me – this typical abundance did not seem to be the case here.  But, it certainly has its charms.

I was in the Fayette County area on a one-day, three-stream trout-a-palooza expedition.  Ensign was my second stop, after a disappointing visit to Bankston.  The drive in, through rolling hills and beautiful valleys, past the ever-present small town churches with steeples reaching high, is gorgeous.  The drive out, atop ridgelines and past herds of longhorn cattle, is equally beautiful.  It’s a nice and pretty place and you won’t be disappointed with the photo opportunities.  This stream is properly in Clayton County, but it’s right across the border from Fayette, and well within an easy drive of the streams in that area.

I first went to an upper portion of the stream.  It appears that there are several access points for Ensign.  The upper part was very weedy all around – perhaps the reason that the DNR once hired goats to trim the area.  The water was very pretty, and the stream was very narrow, like jump-across-the-stream narrow.  I threw a few spinners, but to no avail really.

Downstream, I entered into an area that was grazed by cows.  I know this, too, is often unpopular with Iowa anglers, but I love it.  It’s like fishing on a beautifully trimmed golf course, sans chemicals (I did this once in Ireland – how civilized it was).  Here I caught a big saucy brown trout on an Gold Beadhead Olive Nymph that I tied.  My notes say that I caught him “by the swingset” and that he was “bigger than average, with a great fight.”  Yes, there is a swingset in the cow pasture.  I don’t know what to think about that, other than to recall Far Side cartoons.  I fished down to a culvert where the stream went under the road.  This seemed to be the end of the public access.

The water was decently clear, and there were some good holding spots.  It was easy to get around.  There were fish in there.  Overall, about what you expect from an Iowa stream.  But it was no Spring Branch, which has hundreds of fish just daring you to catch them.  It was a nice experience, but I wouldn’t make a special trip to go back.  I was interested to see that the DNR has stopped stocking here due to successful natural reproduction – that’s great news, and maybe Ensign Hollow will become a real destination in the years to come.

– September 10, 2017


Video stream report and review:

Stream Name:
Hewitt and Ensign Creeks
 Park or Wildlife Area: Ensign Hollow WMA
 DNR Page:  http://www.iowadnr.gov/idnr/Fishing/Where-to-Fish/Trout-Streams/Stream-Details/lakeCode/TEH22

 

 Access: Public access, mix of public and private land.
 Pros: Natural reproduction, wild fish, pretty scenery, easy access once you find the stream.
 Cons: Not as many fish as you’d expect for special regs streams.  Getting to the stream takes a lot of twists and turns, but pretty roads.
 

My Ratings: (out of 10)

Fish Size: 7
Fish Quantity: 3
Beauty: 8
Solitude: 7
Water Clarity: 6
Overall: 6.2